Latest Threads

Forum Statistics
  • Forum posts:196
  • Forum threads:39
  • Members:26
  • Latest member:jiyas2108


Posted by: yawetag
03-12-2020, 01:44 PM
Forum: Volleyball News
- Replies (1)

https://www.teamusa.org/usa-volleyball/f...oronavirus

March 11, 2020 Update - 10 p.m. Mountain

Due to recent events and information concerning the current status of the COVID-19 coronavirus, [b]USA Volleyball is recommending that all USAV-sanctioned events scheduled through March 22 be postponed or cancelled[/b] to ensure the welfare and safety of our athletes, spectators and staff. We are monitoring the situation on a daily basis and will provide periodic updates as information becomes more apparent. Please refer to this page for the latest updated information on USA Volleyball events.


Just got an email from my region - all tournaments are continuing as scheduled, with decisions to cancel being made by the Monday before.

Print this item


Posted by: The Man in Blue
02-28-2020, 06:44 AM
Forum: Situations
- No Replies

Got to my match tonight a little early and was watching the 6th grade play (they use coaches and players to officiate those).  It was obvious we were going to get a late start since they had the 6th grade on a countdown clock that wasn’t going to expire until 5 minutes after our scheduled start time.

With about 15 minutes left, the fire alarm went off and we had to evacuate the building for almost half an hour.

So glad that didn’t happen during my match ...

Print this item


Posted by: LeonXBB
02-20-2020, 11:31 PM
Forum: Referee Mechanics
- Replies (4)

I hope this is correct sub for this question.

So today I've been officiating my city league. One pretty respectful referee also happened to be there as a spectator. He's the national category (or international, sorry I don't remember), he works now as a technical delegate to the national league. He came to me after the game to discuss some moments, and one thing he told me is following:

When judging rotation fouls during serves as R2 (mostly) one should not call un-intentional fouls that happen "in dynamics", aka someone was too fast or too slow etc. Rather, only international fouls should be whistled, aka if someone specially stand in wrong position.

I've heard this for the first time. Over the time I've learnt that there are official written volleyball rules for all, and unwritten refereeng mechanics that are, nevertheless, official, too.

So, does anyone know anything about this?

Print this item


Posted by: The Man in Blue
02-08-2020, 01:53 AM
Forum: Referee Mechanics
- Replies (2)

I’ve been doing volleyball for about five years now.  Add to that all the years I watched my daughters play, and I don’t think I have ever actually seen a server let the ball drop twice in one rotation.

This week I had it happen while I was R1 ... twice ... in one day ... at two different schools.

I knew this was a loss of serve and whistled and signaled the point/loss of serve ... but I wasn’t sure of the proper signal mechanic.  Neither were either of my partners.

Looking in the NFHS rule book, there is a delay of serve mechanic (which I ashamedly did not know/remember).  I’m thinking that is what it should be.  Help?

Print this item


Posted by: LeonXBB
01-28-2020, 12:33 AM
Forum: Introductions
- Replies (9)

Hi there! My name is Lev, I am currently second-year volleyball referee, and a sophromore college student in Ukraine.
I started playing as an opposite hitter during a season of 2017/2018 for some small Christian school in Western Illinois which I attended as an exchange student.
I actually started playing out of boredom and I was not really related to the sport before, but I fell in love with it.
After returning back home to Ukraine, I got into a college but succesfully failed try-outs there. So I've decided to become an official. Completed weekend-long clinic, passed an exam (both twice), and here I am, in the middle of my second year officiating. And, to be honest, I like it even more than playing!  Smile

Print this item


Posted by: yawetag
01-21-2020, 03:59 PM
Forum: Referee Equipment
- Replies (3)

Need some guidance on how you use a magnet to secure your patch. I've tried the ID badge magnets (with the sticky side to the patch) and the same thing using double-sided tape - neither would adhere permanently to the back.

Being the patch isn't iron-on, I don't want to try using any glue, as I worry it will seep through and show on the front. But I want to get the magnet permanently attached.

At this point, the wife and I have come up with two options: (1) attach metal to a different piece of cloth, then sew it to the back of the patch, or (2) use magnetic thread and "spiderweb" the back of the patch.

Any other ideas? I don't want to permanently attach to the shirt, but to make it magnetic.

Print this item


Posted by: yawetag
01-21-2020, 02:19 PM
Forum: Situations
- Replies (1)

Had my first bout of multi-court officiating this weekend. Was a lot of fun and received some good evaluations to help me continue.

On my second day, I was the up referee for a 15U game. My down ref was a player from a third 15U team.

1st set. 24-23, with 24 team serving. I beckon for serve and watch the server. As the ball crosses the net, I see the receiving team just standing there. Ball falls in, I whistle and begin to point to serving team for point. As I'm doing so, I see my down ref signaling a time-out, which I thought was weird considering it was the end of a set. I finish my point, show "in", whistle and signal end of set and change sides.

Both teams look at me like I'm the dumbest person on earth, but begin switching sides. R2 then comes over to me and says "The serving team called for a time-out before the serve." I ask if the request was before I beckoned for serve and she said it was after. She then informs me that the scorer told her it was the wrong server.

I come down the stand and walk to the desk. Sure enough, 7 served but it should have been 5. So now I have a time-out on the serving them who also had an improper server. The down ref whistled the time-out, which is what caused the receiving team to just stand there when the ball came over.

I decided to replay the point since down ref's whistle killed the play. I explained this to the receiving team, who understood. I then walked to the serving team and explained what happened; the coach said "I called the time-out because I saw it was the wrong server." I explained to her that we would replay the point and she seemed genuinely confused that I wouldn't give her the point. I told her that if I allowed the serve to occur, she would have had an illegal server, causing point and serve to the receiving team. I think she understood at that moment, but I'm not quite sure.

We reset everything to the 24-23 moment. They got the right server, who ended up acing for the point anyway - 5 minutes wasted.

As I was going over this to myself later, I realized I probably should have given an improper request to the team. Other than that, I feel I handled it correctly, though I'm more than willing to hear from others.

Print this item


Posted by: The Man in Blue
01-19-2020, 09:24 PM
Forum: Situations
- Replies (3)

Worked a multi-day tournament this week.

On night 1 I was on the tower for Team Mean Green’s first game.  I noticed a player acting a little odd — holding her head and staring off into space — as we started the game.  A handful of serves into the game, she seemed to momentarily lose her balance while crouching in preparation for the incoming serve (rocked back on her heels and jerked her head like she just woke up).

When she came up to serve, she immediately launched into her serve before I even had my hand up.  I chirped, we returned the ball to her, and she waited for my whistle.  When I whistled, she stepped over the line by a good 12-18 inches like she didn’t even know it was there.

I have CPed players before, but both times it was after an incident.  In this case, nothing had happened.  During action she seemed pretty much OK.  During the break between sets, I called my partner over and asked his opinion.  “Teenage girls.” he said and walked away.  I wanted to talk to the coach afterwards, but the game ended on a call they didn’t like, so I left it alone.

The next night I am on the floor for Team Mean Green’s second game.  During warmups I watch this girl a little closer.  She seems a little more attentive, but still kind of squirrelly.  Three plays into the game and she takes a spike to the forehead.  She was a little stunned and dazed.  

My partner (different from the night before) was holding up play for the coach to go check on her.  The coach never did.  After a few moments, the coach asked “Do I need to take her out?”  My partner nods yes from across the floor.  The girl comes out with a substitution (she started to just walk off the court).

At the first timeout, I anticipate the coach asking me if the girl can go back in, so I go to ask my partner if we are CPing her (no trainer onsite).  He says “No, I just said she had to come out because we were past the 30 seconds allotted for an injury and the coach had not gone out there.”

The coach never asked.  After 15 minutes or so, the player left the bench with another coach.  She never came back.

My suspicion is she either should have been or was in concussion protocol prior to our first game.

So, my question is this: Can you remove a player for concussion protocol if you didn’t witness anything and are not aware of any incident?

Print this item


Posted by: yawetag
11-20-2019, 08:47 PM
Forum: High School
- Replies (1)

NFHS has released a volleyball-related survey. Feel free to check it out and complete, it expires December 6th:

http://www.nfhs.org/sports-resource-content/nfhs-sport-questionnaires/

Print this item


Posted by: yawetag
11-19-2019, 07:27 PM
Forum: Referee Equipment
- Replies (1)

I need all-white shoes for club ball this winter. Any recommendations on what you've gotten?

Print this item